Vegan Crunch Wrap!

15965729_10158057392530611_6198367765803305874_n

This post is for my friend Ashley Anna who encouraged me to start this blog and start doing the creative things I love agian. Thank you Ashley Anna! She also requested the recipe for this. Ask and ye shall receive!

So this is one of the first recipes I have created myself but I am using the Edgy Veg recipe for the nacho cheese and it is bomb! I will link in below but seriously I am addicted to this nacho cheese! I have been making it just to eat as a snack and it heats up well for leftovers! So try it!

So first the grocery list:

  • 1 bag of burrito tortillas (the biggest you can find)
  • 1 bag of the flat circle crunchy corn tortillas (I used the Pueblo Lindo Casera Style Tostadas from Aldi)
  • 1 avocado mashed or thinly sliced
  • A few tomatoes diced
  • Some green onions sliced
  • 1/2 bag of Gardein beefless ground
  • Chili powder
  • Cumin
  • 1 tsp Garlic
  • The nacho cheese sauce

While you have your nacho cheese sauce cooking start cooking your “beef”. Add about half of the bag into a pan with a little bit of water on a medium heat. Then add your chili powder and be generous I would say I added at least 2 or 3 tbs of it, the cumin probably another 2 tbs of it, and 1 tsp of garlic. However I kept adding more of the spices as I was cooking until it smelled like taco seasoned “beef” to me. So test it and trust your sense of smell as you go along. Mix it all up and keep adding water so there is always some in the pan. Keep stirring it and once it’s been about 5 minutes turn the heat down to low. Still checking to making sure liquid is still in the pan. About 5 or 10 minutes into it cooking the liquid should turn thicker like sauce would normally look taco meat. However this is way better because no animals were harmed in this meal! At this point get your tomatoes, avocado, and green onions sliced and diced ready to go.

Once your nacho cheese sauce is done you can take the “beef” off the heat and start assembling your crunch wraps! Take one burrito tortilla and put it on a plate, add the crunchy corn tortilla on top in the center, then add your “beef” on top of that, then some nacho cheese sauce, some onions, avocado and tomatoes. Then start folding it into that crunch wrap shape. If the burrito shell doesn’t touch in the middle that’s fine, once it is cooking it won’t fall out. ¬†Next place your crunch wrap folded side down into a non stick pan(you don’t need to grease your pan as long as it is non stick) and let it cook for 3 or 4 minutes or until golden brown. Then flip it and do the same for the other side and voila¬†your crunch wrap is ready for you to eat!

This made me about 6 or 7 crunch wraps with a few burrito tortillas and crunchy corn tortillas leftover. I broke the crunchy corn tortillas up and used them as chips and sliced the burrito tortillas up and baked them into chips. I used both of these with any leftover nacho cheese sauce or with some salsa.

This makes great leftovers because everything is already slice and diced. I just put them all into separate containers in the fridge. All you need to do to have this for lunch or supper the next day or throughout the week is assemble it and cook it in a pan like before.

This is pretty simple to make and tastes soo good! I have not had a traditional crunch wrap in over 3 or 4 years ish. However this tasted how I remembered it! Oh and the salsa in the picture was not good I don’t recommend it. It was way too salty I couldn’t even eat it.

Leave a Reply

