Pumpkin Oat Bread from Minimalist Baker.

I was so excited to make this pumpkin loaf!! My idea was it could be a quick breakfast for me, since I never have time to cook in the mornings.

So I rate recipes kind of by a checklist. Do I have most of the ingredients or are they easy  to find in stores? Is the recipe easy to follow? How long does it take to assemble the recipe? Does it turn out like the picture in the cookbook? How does it taste/is there anything I would want to try and improve in the recipe? Do I think it is worth it to make again?

Did I have the ingredients for this recipe at home. Yes. I just ground up my own almonds for the almond meal. Easy enough. The recipe was easy to follow and took the average time to assemble. I’d say 10 to 15 minutes and I was baking this at night. I could not really taste the pumpkin at all. It tasted just like banana bread to me. I did alter this recipe just a little bit. I blended my oats up a bit because I wanted it to have a more smooth texture. So keeping that in mind it was still a little gooey in the center after 50 minutes of baking. If I had left it in any longer I think it probably would’ve burned.

So will I try this recipe again? Will I try to improve it? Yes I will. I really like the taste of pumpkin so will probably add a whole can of pumpkin and see if that makes a difference. Also I think I will add some more of the spices to help intensify that pumpkin flavor I’m after. Lastly I will not blend my oats and split the batter into two pans and see if that helps with the gooey factor at all. As always I will let you know how it goes, so keep your eyes peeled for part two!

If any of you have tried this feel free to comment below and let me know how it went for you!

Leave a Reply

