Scalloped Potatoes from Minimalist Baker.

This is a pretty simple recipe. It only requires ingredients that you probably already have in your home. The only downside is if you are starving and can’t wait for your meal. This isn’t the meal for you as it takes 1 hour and 10 minutes to bake all together. However maybe just have a snack prepared for yourself while you wait for this to be done?

img_0200
Half way through the making of the scalloped potatoes

The instructions are very clear and easy to follow. The ingredients are simple and not some crazy thing you can’t find or have to pay an arm and a leg for. It took me maybe 15 minutes to assemble with the cook time of the garlic and the thickening of the sauce.

 I had a hard time getting the  flour clumps to dissolve in the milk and vegetable broth. Now maybe I should’ve let the flour cook a little bit longer before adding in the liquids. Which is probably the culprit for this not thickening up a lot. I personally didn’t mind that it wasn’t thick. I think the taste is there, although next time I make it I will add more nutritional yeast, garlic and salt. I LOVE garlic and nutritional yeast so I need a lot! However taste it as you go along for yourself and let the flour and garlic mix cook and you should be fine!

img_0205
I always have help in the kitchen.

Something else to note is that this doesn’t make a lot of scalloped potatoes. Which is fine if you need more just double the recipe. I personally cook just for myself and it was enough for me to eat with some pita bread and save the other half for lunch the next day.

Overall I think this is a good recipe. It’s fast to assemble and then you just leave it to cook. Pretty simple. In my opinion no recipe is perfect the first time you make it. Maybe you will have one every once in awhile that is just perfection personified and needs no altering. However I think half the fun of cooking is you get to experiment in your kitchen. So if anyone has wanted to be a mad scientist for halloween. I’ve got you, you can be one every day of the year in the kitchen. lol. I can’t count the times my roommate has come home to find me in the kitchen making a mess, improvising on a recipe bc I forgot to buy something, or I just needed to use up some ingredients.

If anyone has any suggestions as other posts I should do as I’m getting this blog going. Please feel free to let me know.

Leave a Reply

